Close this search box.

Below is  a compilation of kosher products under the supervision of Rabbi Jair Melchior. A kosher guide can be downloaded here.

Halakhic considerations

We follow accepted halakhic principles for approval and inspection of food-production facilities.

In some cases, there exist a different approach among rabbis. In those cases, we follow the following decisions/halakhic rulings:

·         Milk We accept chalav akum based on Rabbi Mosher Feinstein’s ruling.
·         Cheese Only cheese produced with a mashgiach present at the production is kosher, even if the rennet in a cheese is fully vegetarian.
·         Bread We accept bread that is not Pat Israel, i.e. bread that is baked by non-Jews. Bread which contain milk or other dairy is according to Shulchan aruch not allowed. However, if you keep a meat free home it is allowed.
·         E 120 –               Carmine We accept the food colouring carmine, E 120, based on halakhic rulings of recognized Rabbinical authorities (some rabbis don’t approve this food colouring).


Kosher meat, cheese and other special products are available in the kosher-shop Gils Deli (Lyngbyvej 87, 2100 Copenhagen Ø).

It is possible to order kosher meals and catering at D&A Kosher. You can contact them at

Meals at hotels
All fresh fruit juices (for example orange-juice or apple-juice) are kosher. Coffee and tea are kosher. Swedish crackers (“knækbrød”) from the list are kosher (see page 18) and you will find them on the breakfast buffet in most Danish hotels. Cereals form Kellogg’s are also kosher. Milk, butter, honey, and smoked salmon are all kosher. All fresh vegetables and fruits can be eaten. The hotels plates and cutlery can only be used for cold food. Boiled eggs can only be eaten if they are cooked in a steamer in a pot that is exclusively used for this purpose. Most Danish hotels boil eggs this way.


Please note:
1. The list is *not* kosher for Passover!!!

2. The Rabbinate strongly encourages that the declaration on each product is read
before using it as the ingredients can have changed since this list was complied.

When you buy the product:

– It is always preferable to buy a product that is under rabbinical supervision
(that has a hechsher)

– The products on this list have been controlled, but the production is not under
constant rabbinical supervision.

– Wine and cheese must be produced under supervision in order to be kosher.


As a general rule, a product containing one or more of following ingredients is NOT kosher

The following E-numbers are NOT kosher:

Gils Deli (butcher) 

Phone: +45 41 41 06 31

Opening hours:

Tuesday and Wednesday
09 am – 5.30pm.
Thursday 10 am – 7.30 pm.
Friday 08 am – 1 pm.